New Laws in Va 2021

The Virginia General Assembly passed two new laws to improve cycling safety in the Commonwealth. Effective July 1, 2022, the following new laws will go into effect in Virginia: A new Virginia state law, effective January 1, 2021, requires anyone applying for a concealed carrying permit to complete a personal firearms training course. This is a change from the previous legislation, which allowed the training requirement to be met through a virtual course. Previously, Virginia`s minimum wage was the federal amount of $7.25. Effective May 1, 2021, the minimum wage increased to $9.50. Further increases will increase the minimum wage to $11.00 on January 1, 2022 and $12.00 on January 1, 2023. Further increases to $13.50 on January 1, 2025 and $15.00 on January 1, 2025. January 2026 depends on the adoption of the General Assembly by 1 July 2024. The new laws also include a ban on health insurance and other insurance companies charging more than $50 per 30-day supply of insulin.

This law covers prescription insulin-based drugs. March 1, 2021 – As of March 1, 2021, searches and seizures based solely on the smell of marijuana are not permitted under Virginia law. This new law comes on the heels of Virginia`s marijuana decriminalization law, which went into effect on July 1, 2020, making the penalty for possession of an ounce or less of marijuana a civil matter punishable by a $25 fine. Virginia is becoming increasingly strict about who can be classified as an independent contract. With effect from 1. As of January 2021, the new law prohibits an employer from classifying a person as an independent contractor if they are an employee, unless the employer can prove that the employee is actually a contractor. As of January 1, 2021, anyone applying for a concealed weapons licence must complete in-person firearms training. Virtual classes are no longer acceptable. Here are some of Virginia`s new laws that will take effect on Friday, July 1, 2022: If there are reasonable grounds to believe that there has been a violation of election laws and that a voter`s rights have been compromised, the Commonwealth Attorney may bring a civil action. Available remedies may include an injunction or injunction, a fine of up to $50,000 for the first offence and $100,000 for the second offence, and an arbitration award to cover the plaintiff`s reasonable legal fees and costs. SB 1395 Next door in the district, most of the new laws come into effect at the beginning of the fiscal year, on October 1.

But the annual cost-of-living adjustment to minimum wage takes effect Friday; Minimum wage workers will increase their hourly wage from $15.50 to $16.10. On March 24, 2021, Virginia became the first Southern state to abolish the death penalty. Since 1976, when the U.S. Supreme Court upheld the death penalty (Gregg. v. Georgia), the Commonwealth has executed 113 people, second only to Texas. Proponents of abolishing the death penalty argue that it has been used unfairly against the poor, the mentally handicapped, and people of color. Virginia is the 23rd state to abolish the death penalty. As of January 1, 2021, it will be illegal to have a mobile phone or electronic device while driving.

Hands-free calls are allowed. HB 1191 (Marcus Alert System): Extends from July 1, 2021 to July 1, 2023 the date by which communities must establish voluntary databases provided to the 9-1-1 Alert System and Marcus Alert System to provide relevant mental health information and contact information in the event of an emergency or emergency for appropriate emergency or crisis response. Read our story here In another amendment, Virginians are allowed to carry up to three gallons of alcohol across state borders if it`s for personal use, starting from the previous one-gallon limit. The state has also relaxed medical marijuana laws, removing the requirement for patients to register with the state pharmacy board. You always need a written certificate from a medical provider. Some of the new laws enacted in Virginia bear the seal of the state`s new Republican governor, who won the post by promising to cut taxes and give parents more control over public schools. However, one of Gov. Glenn Youngkin`s main goals, eliminating the food tax, won`t go into effect until January and won`t go as far as he would have liked.

(Democrats, who control the state Senate, have agreed only to eliminate the state`s 1.5 percent share of the tax; the 1 percent levied by municipalities remains.) Starting at 1. As of July 2021, all local public school districts must offer face-to-face instruction in RICHMOND, Virginia. Several new laws will go into effect in Virginia once the schedule is released on July 1, including a ban on police ticketing quotas, a new sentence for marijuana possession, changes to medical marijuana licenses, reporting requirements for school principals, and more. The new year begins with new laws in Virginia. The changes affect secret handgun licenses, your cell phone use while driving, the cost of insulin, surprise medical bills and the classification of independent contractors. Here you can find more information about each of them. “Adam`s Law” would require student organizations at all public and private colleges and universities to provide each of their members, prospective members, and advisors with “comprehensive, up-to-date, and personal education on turbidity, the dangers of turbidity, including alcohol intoxication, and institutional turbidity laws and policies.” RICHMOND, Va. The legalization of marijuana, changes to liquor laws and expanded voter access hit Virginia on July 1, when the Commonwealth enacted numerous new laws. New laws also require producers to keep records of animals used for experimental purposes for two years from the date of sale or transfer and release surplus animals for adoption before being euthanized.

Starting at 1. In January 2021, you may be eligible to receive a Driver Privilege Card if you meet the following requirements: While several laws go into effect in Virginia on the first day of 2021, some go into effect a little later. A new law preventing families and individuals from receiving unexpected medical bills also went into effect on January 1, 2021. This new law concerns patients whose health insurance is billed for emergency services outside the network. This is the case when patients receive care from a hospital or doctor who is not part of the insurance company`s network. The new legislation states that “the health care provider must treat each cost-sharing requirement in the same manner as the cost-sharing requirement for health care services provided by a provider in the network and must apply any cost-sharing amount paid by the participant for those services to the maximum obligation to disburse in the network.” The purpose of this Act is therefore to prevent amounts not covered by the insurance plan from being charged. RICHMOND — Virginians will pay more gas taxes, but will have an easier time obtaining medical marijuana, hunting on Sundays and transporting alcohol across state borders, while Maryland will see sweeping police accountability measures in effect starting Friday. when a series of new laws come into force in the region. This new law prohibits health insurance companies and other carriers from setting an amount greater than $50 per 30-day supply of insulin for Virginia residents.

The law comes into effect on January 1, 2021 and covers prescription insulin-based medications. Click here to read the full text of the bill. Times are changing – as of January 1, 2021, it`s illegal to hold a phone while driving. Help your friends start the new year right by spreading the word and keeping your family and other road users safe. #PhoneDown #HandsFreeVA pic.twitter.com/QVzkzR7aPk HB 525 (Adam`s Law): Establishes mandates in private non-profit colleges and public colleges with respect to hazing and defines different types of organizations in the entities to which the mandates apply. The Bill commits each of these institutions, current member, new member and potential new member of each student organization with new members to take hazing prevention training that includes comprehensive, up-to-date and personal education on turbidity, the dangers of turbidity, including alcohol poisoning, and turbidity laws. and settlement guidelines and information. should not be considered as a substitute for criminal proceedings. provides that if a student organization with new members has a counsellor, that counsellor will receive such training in hazing prevention. Read our story here As of March 1, 2021, police will no longer be able to stop a vehicle (or pedestrian) in certain circumstances that previously allowed them to stop. These offences include: smell of alcohol, smell of marijuana, broken taillight, expired inspection, cracked windshield, tinted windows, defective equipment and air freshener hanging from a rear-view mirror. These items can still result in a subpoena, but only as a secondary offence and not as a reason to stop a vehicle.

An expired inspection or registration must be at least 4 months late for a primary shutdown. Evidence obtained after improper review would be inadmissible in court. HB 5058 SB 5029 With Democrats having a slim majority in the Virginia Senate and Republicans regaining control of the House of Representatives in 2021, lawmakers from both parties have wielded their power in those chambers to oppose several bills introduced by the other party. RICHMOND, Va. — After another round of meetings of Virginia lawmakers, many new laws and amendments to existing laws will go into effect Friday. Here`s a look at some of them: The Virginia General Assembly has passed seven laws related to Virginia ABC that will take effect July 1.